Buchanan and Eddy – The “Most Dangerous” Neighborhood in San Francisco

9 Apr

DSC07658

This one day on my way to see the Saint Mary’s Cathedral, I walked into this supposingly low-income housing project at Buahanan and Eddy streets. The streets were clean and it was a sunny day. The “architecture” there was a little dry, solely residential, un-san francisco, but it seemed okay. However I was overwhelmed by the tons of surveillance cameras and warning signs in the neighborhood. It was as if something really bad had happened many times there before. There are many things I can write about these housing projects. But what I found very interesting was that signages and installations alone can psychologically affect how people feel about a space.

DSC07659 DSC07660 DSC07661 DSC07662 DSC07663 DSC07664 DSC07665 DSC07666 DSC07667 DSC07668

corner of buchanan st. and eddy street, san francisco

6 Responses to “Buchanan and Eddy – The “Most Dangerous” Neighborhood in San Francisco”

  1. sarah April 10, 2013 at 11:16 am #

    scary! I wonder if all those cameras deter the criminals. Why do you say “supposedly low income?

    • kam April 11, 2013 at 8:53 am #

      it was a bit scary! I walked thru the streets very fast when I was there just in case it was shooting season 😛 I said “supposedly low income” simply because I assumed it was but I didnt stay long enough to check it out! I was really all by myself on the streets at around 2pm in the afternoon!

      • Lucas Riley August 25, 2013 at 1:34 pm #

        I thought bayview hunterspoint was the most Dangerous part of San Francisco

      • kam August 26, 2013 at 7:13 am #

        It could be! I cant tell since I have never been to hunterspoint but I read about the crimes in bayview in the sf chronicle!

  2. Sartenada April 11, 2013 at 10:16 pm #

    A lot of warnings! I love the theme of Your post, so interesting.

    • kam April 15, 2013 at 9:51 am #

      Thanks so much for visiting Sartenada 🙂

Leave a Reply

