When American Cities Look like European Cities

24 Sep

I was particularly fascinated by this photo I took in San Francisco. Somehow it looks very European. Maybe it was because of the European-like golden cupolas on top of the church’s towers. Or it was because of the congregation of people on the closed-off street for the Folsom festival. The more I think about it, the deeper I believe that it is the disappearance of the roads (streets for cars) in front of the church that makes the photo look European.

Architecture in America and Europe share a lot of similarities. But European cities don’t have as many wide and well-defined concrete roads, or grids of straight roads dividing their old cities. I proved my observation by zooming in my other photos until the roads disappeared. Guess what, they did look kind of European. You can try that too.

around 10th street and folsom street, san francisco

3 Responses to “When American Cities Look like European Cities”

  1. John September 28, 2012 at 8:30 am #

    I was surprised by a couple of my own pictures that when the roads are taken out, they have a very different feel

    • kam September 28, 2012 at 9:41 am #

      Thanks for trying the “technique” out! It’s interesting that the road systems do really define American cityscape.

  2. Sartenada September 29, 2012 at 12:11 am #

    Yes indeed. When looking at Your photo, I could say that it is somewhere from Spain.

Leave a Reply

